back >

BCQS Sponsors the 2013 BVI Dinghy Championship 


BCQS sponsors the 2013 BVI Dinghy Championship held on May 4th - 5th, 2013.

The event was successfully concluded with 59 competitors in three classes competing in a total of 36 races during the two days of competition.

Organized by the Royal BVI Yacht Club, the event saw racers in Optimist, Laser and IC-24?s sailing off Nanny Cay.

Saturday's conditions were variable with light wind oscillating 30-degrees. Sunday's conditions were steadier but still light.

"It was a light wind regatta," confirmed race director Andy Morrell. "We didn't see winds exceed about 7-knots in both days of competition."

The largest class was the Optimist Championship fleet where St Thomas racer Teddy Nicolosi dominated the 25-strong fleet by winning all but the final race.

Exhibiting extraordinary boat speed the 12-year old Nicolosi was all but untouchable. His winning margin was so great that, in fact, the rest of the fleet were racing for second. Jason Putley from Tortola took the runner-up position with consistent finishes over the 8-race series.

Considered a heaver sailor Putley did very well to finish in 2nd. 3rd belonged to St Thomian Scott McKenzie.

In the large Optimist Green fleet Victoria Flately won by a large margin with Terra Erhart in 2nd. Tortola racer Nathan Haycraft took the third position.
The competitive Laser fleet was divided between standard and radial class sailors.

In the standard class Mark van den Driessche from St Thomas finished ahead of BVI racer Chris Brockbank. Andrew Barlas of St John took 3rd.

In the radial class Rhone Findlay from St Maarten squeaked ahead of Matt Oliver while Antiguan Lewis Fitzgerald came third.

The smallest class in the event was the IC-25 where Colin Rathbun took an easy win with Jon Charleton eeking a win over Chris Haycraft for 2nd.

Hosted by Nanny Cay the event was made possible by sponsorship from TICO, Conyers Dill & Pearman, KPMG, Caribbean Insurers, VP Bank, BCQS, the Soggy Dollar Bar, the BVI Tourist Board, INTAC, Nagico and Walkers.